Faculty

Cahill, Suzanne 

Ph.D. – Adjunct Professor Emeriti, History

Email: SuzanneCahill@gmail.com 


Chen, Joseph C. Y.

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Physics

Email: JCyChen@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2893   
Office: MAYER 3214
Faculty Profile: Physics Department


Esherick, Joseph

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, History

Email: JEsheric@ucsd.edu   


Gerth, Karl

Ph.D. – Professor, History
Hwei-chih and Julia Hsiu Chair in Chinese Studies

Email: kgerth@ucsd.edu  
Phone: 858-534-8939   
Office: HSS 3070
Faculty Website: www.karlgerth.com


Guy, Nancy

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Music

Email: NGuy@ucsd.edu      
Phone: 858-534-8875   
Office: CPMC 242
Faculty Profile: Music Department


Heinrich, Ari N. (Larissa)

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Literature

Email: LNHeinrich@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2395   
Office: LIT 342
Faculty Profile: Literature Department


Hoston, Germaine

Ph.D. – Professor, Political Science

Email: GHoston@ucsd.edu  
Phone: 858-449-0455   
Office: SSB 376
Faculty Profile: Germaine Hoston's Website


Jordan, David 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Anthropology

Email: DKJordan@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-822-0751 
Office: SSB 282
Faculty Profile: Anthropology Department


Li, Huai (aka Pickowicz, Lee)

 M.F.A. – Lecturer, Visual Arts

Email: H3Li@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2860 
Office: MAND 216
Faculty Profile: Visual Arts Department


Liang, Lei 

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Music

Email: LeiLiang@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-822-1434   
Office: CPMC 350
Faculty Profile: Composer's Site | Music Department


Liao, Ping-hui 

Ph.D. – Professor, Literature
Chuan Lyu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies

Email: PiLiao@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2706   
Office: LIT 443
Faculty ProfileLiterature Department


Lu, Weijing 

 Ph.D. – Associate Professor, History

 Email: W1Lu@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-0586   
Office: HSS 3044
Faculty Profile: History Department


Madsen, Richard 

Ph.D. – Professor, Sociology

Email: RMadsen@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2779   
Office: SSB 401
Faculty Profile: Sociology Department


Naughton, Barry J. 

Ph.D. – Professor, The School Global Policy and Strategy

Email: BNaughton@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-2481   
Office: RBC 1423
Faculty Profile: GPS website


Pickowicz, Paul 

Ph.D. – Distinguished Professor, History and Chinese Studies

Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History

Email: bikewei@ucsd.edu   

Phone: 858-534-2481   
Office: HSS 3072
Faculty Profile: History Department


Schneewind, Sarah 

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, History

Email: SScheewind@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-822-0814   
Office: HSS 3062
Faculty Profile: History Department


Shen, Kuiyi 

Ph.D. – Professor, Visual Arts
Director of Chinese Studies Program

Email: KShen@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-6104   
Office: VAF 365
Faculty Profile: Visual Arts


Shirk, Susan 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeriti, School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: SShirk@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-822-4349
Office: RBC 1426
Faculty Profile: GPS


Yip, Wai-Lim 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Literature

Email: WYip@ucsd.edu   
Faculty Profile: Literature Department


Zhang, Yingjin 

Chair, Department of Literature

Ph.D. – Professor, Literature

Email: YinZhang@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-5991   
Office: LIT 339
Faculty ProfileLiterature Department