Skip to main content

People 

Program Director

Gerth, Karl  

Director of Chinese Studies Program

Ph.D. – Professor, History 

Hwei-Chih and Julia Hsiu Endowed Chair

Karl Gerth (PhD, Harvard University, 2000) – Professor of History and Hwei-Chih and Julia Hsiu Endowed Chair in Chinese Studies.  His latest book, As China Goes, So Goes the World: How Chinese Consumers are Transforming Everything, explores whether Chinese consumers can rescue the economy without creating even deeper global problems. He is also the author of China Made: Consumer Culture and the Creation of the Nation.  Currently, he is writing a book that investigates the survival of market practices in the China’s urban centers following the establishment of Communist rule in 1949.  For more information and publications, see www.karlgerth.com.

Email: kgerth@ucsd.edu   
Phone: 858-534-8939
Office: HSS 3072

Affiliated Faculty

Chen, Eddy Keming

Ph.D. – Assistant Professor, Philosophy

Email: k2chen@ucsd.edu


Cheung, Tai Ming

Ph.D. – Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy

Email: tcheung@ucsd.edu


Gerth, Karl

Ph.D. – Professor, History

Email: kgerth@ucsd.edu  


Guedes, Jade d’Alpoim

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography & Department of Anthropology

Email: jguedes@ucsd.edu      


Guy, Nancy

Ph.D. – Professor, Music

Email: nguy@ucsd.edu      


Hoston, Germaine

Ph.D. – Professor, Political Science

Email: ghoston@ucsd.edu  


Li, Huai (aka Pickowicz, Lee)

M.F.A. – Lecturer, Visual Arts

Email: h3li@ucsd.edu   
Faculty Profile: Visual Arts Department


Liang, Lei 

Ph.D. – Professor, Music

Email: leiliang@ucsd.edu   
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/leiliangcomposer2/


Liao, Ping-hui 

Ph.D. – Professor, Literature
Chuan Lyu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies

Email: piliao@ucsd.edu   


Lu, Weijing 

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, History

Email: w1lu@ucsd.edu   


Muscolino, Micah 

Ph.D. –  Professor, History
Paul G. Pickowicz Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History

Email: mmuscolino@ucsd.edu 


Naughton, Barry J. 

Ph.D. – Professor, School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: bnaughton@ucsd.edu   


Schneewind, Sarah 

Ph.D. – Professor, History

Email: sschneewind@ucsd.edu


Shen, Kuiyi 

Ph.D. – Professor, Visual Arts

Email: kshen@ucsd.edu   


Zhang, Yingjin 

Chair, Department of Literature

Ph.D. – Distinguished Professor, Literature

Email: yinzhang@ucsd.edu   


Emeritus Affiliated Faculty

 

Cahill, Suzanne 

Ph.D. – Adjunct Professor Emeritus, History

Email: suzannecahill@gmail.com    


Chen, Joseph C. Y.

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Physics

Email: jcychen@ucsd.edu   


Esherick, Joseph

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, History

Email: jesherick@ucsd.edu 


Jordan, David 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Anthropology

Email: dkjordan@ucsd.edu    
Website: http://pages.ucsd.edu/~dkjordan/ 


Madsen, Richard 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Sociology

Email: rmadsen@ucsd.edu   


Pickowicz, Paul 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, History
Distinguished Professor of History and Chinese Studies

Endowed Chair 

Email: bikewei@ucsd.edu   


Shirk, Susan 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: sshirk@ucsd.edu   

 


Yip, Wai-Lim 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Literature

Email: wyip@ucsd.edu   

Language Faculty

Qin-Hong Anderson

Anderson, Qin-Hong 

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: qinhong@ucsd.edu   
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: HSS 3067
Hours: Office Hours


Non Photo

Cha, Samuel

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: sxcha@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-534-3042  
Office: HSS 3056
Hours: Office Hours


Pei-Chia Chen

Chen, Pei-Chia

Faculty, Chinese Language

Academic Coordinator II, Chinese language program

Email: peichiachen@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: HSS 3085
Hours: Office Hours


Xiao Wang

Wang, Xiao

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: xiw004@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-822-1533   
Office: HSS 3084
Hours: Office Hours


Xu, Li

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: lixu29@ucsd.eduLi Xu
Phone:
 858-822-1504
Office: HSS 3071
Hours: Office Hours

Staff

Jennifer Schwarzkopf

Program Coordinator & Academic Advisor

Chinese Studies Program
Arts and Humanities Building, 6th Floor, Room 659

Email: 
chinesestudies@ucsd.edu
Phone:
858-534-6477 

Librarian

Non Photo

Xi Chen

Associate Librarian 

Geisel Library - BioMed Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive MC 0699
La Jolla, California 92093-0699

Email: xic031@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-7782