Skip to main content

People 

Program Director

Micah Muscolino

Interim Director of Chinese Studies Program

Ph.D. – Professor, History 

Paul G. Pickowicz Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History

 

Professor Muscolino's first book, Fishing Wars and Environmental Change in Late Imperial and Modern China (2009), focused on the history of China’s most important marine fishery, the waters around the Zhoushan Islands, from its nineteenth-century expansion to the exhaustion of its main commercial fish stocks in the 1970s. His second book The Ecology of War in China: Henan Province, the Yellow River, and Beyond, 1938-1950 (2015) engaged with the historiography of war and militarization in modern China and the interdisciplinary scholarship on war and the environment in world history. He is currently researching the history of water and soil conservation in Northwest China’s Loess Plateau region from the 1940s to the present. Drawing on county-level archives and fieldwork conducted in villages in Northwest China’s Gansu province, the project explores how state-led water and soil conservation campaigns in Gansu transformed the biophysical environment and altered the lives of people who depended on water and soil for their survival.

Email: mmuscolino@ucsd.edu   

Affiliated Faculty

Chen, Eddy Keming

Ph.D. – Assistant Professor, Philosophy

Email: k2chen@ucsd.edu


Cheung, Tai Ming

Ph.D. – Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy

Email: tcheung@ucsd.edu


Gerth, Karl

Ph.D. – Professor, History

Email: kgerth@ucsd.edu  


Guedes, Jade d’Alpoim

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography & Department of Anthropology

Email: jguedes@ucsd.edu      


Guy, Nancy

Ph.D. – Professor, Music

Email: nguy@ucsd.edu      


Hoston, Germaine

Ph.D. – Professor, Political Science

Email: ghoston@ucsd.edu  


Li, Huai (aka Pickowicz, Lee)

M.F.A. – Lecturer, Visual Arts

Email: h3li@ucsd.edu   
Faculty Profile: Visual Arts Department


Liang, Lei 

Ph.D. – Professor, Music

Email: leiliang@ucsd.edu   
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/leiliangcomposer2/


Liao, Ping-hui 

Ph.D. – Professor, Literature
Chuan Lyu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies

Email: piliao@ucsd.edu   


Lu, Weijing 

Ph.D. – Associate Professor, History

Email: w1lu@ucsd.edu   


Muscolino, Micah 

Ph.D. –  Professor, History
Paul G. Pickowicz Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History

Email: mmuscolino@ucsd.edu 


Naughton, Barry J. 

Ph.D. – Professor, School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: bnaughton@ucsd.edu   


Schneewind, Sarah 

Ph.D. – Professor, History

Email: sschneewind@ucsd.edu


Shen, Kuiyi 

Ph.D. – Professor, Visual Arts

Email: kshen@ucsd.edu   


Zhang, Yingjin 

Chair, Department of Literature

Ph.D. – Distinguished Professor, Literature

Email: yinzhang@ucsd.edu   


Emeritus Affiliated Faculty

 

Cahill, Suzanne 

Ph.D. – Adjunct Professor Emeritus, History

Email: suzannecahill@gmail.com    


Chen, Joseph C. Y.

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Physics

Email: jcychen@ucsd.edu   


Esherick, Joseph

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, History

Email: jesherick@ucsd.edu 


Jordan, David 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Anthropology

Email: dkjordan@ucsd.edu    
Website: http://pages.ucsd.edu/~dkjordan/ 


Madsen, Richard 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Sociology

Email: rmadsen@ucsd.edu   


Pickowicz, Paul 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, History
Distinguished Professor of History and Chinese Studies

Endowed Chair 

Email: bikewei@ucsd.edu   


Shirk, Susan 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: sshirk@ucsd.edu   

 


Yip, Wai-Lim 

Ph.D. – Professor Emeritus, Literature

Email: wyip@ucsd.edu   

Language Faculty

Qin-Hong Anderson

Anderson, Qin-Hong 

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: qinhong@ucsd.edu   
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 628


Non Photo

Liu, Mingming

Faculty, Chinese Language

Emailmil068@ucsd.edu
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 627

 


Pei-Chia Chen

Chen, Pei-Chia

Faculty, Chinese Language

Academic Coordinator II, Chinese language program

Email: peichiachen@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 631


Xiao Wang

Wang, Xiao

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: xiw004@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-822-1533   
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 629


Xu, Li

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: lixu29@ucsd.eduLi Xu
Phone:
 858-822-1504
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 630

 

 

 


Cha, Samuel (retired)

Faculty, Chinese Language

Staff

Jennifer Schwarzkopf

Program Coordinator & Academic Advisor

Chinese Studies Program
Arts and Humanities Building, 6th Floor, Room 659

Email: 
chinesestudies@ucsd.edu
Phone:
858-534-6477 

Librarian

Non Photo

Xi Chen

Associate Librarian 

Geisel Library - BioMed Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive MC 0699
La Jolla, California 92093-0699

Email: xic031@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-7782