Skip to main content

People 

Program Director

Sarah Schneewind

Director of Chinese Studies Program

Ph.D. – Professor, History 

 Sarah Schneewind holds degrees from Cornell University, Yale University, and Columbia University.  She has studied the relations between state and society during the Ming era (1368-1644) in three books. Community Schools and the State in Ming China shows change over time in the local implementation of one policy, arguing that the center did not determine the policy’s course.  A Tale of Two Melons traces the way the first Ming emperor, his advisors, and people at the local level interpreted one lucky omen. Shrines to Living Men in the Ming Political Cosmos argues that shrines to living officials (生祠) constituted, among many other things, a legitimate way for commoners to participate in politics under the autocratic, bureaucratic Ming monarchy. Schneewind has also edited a collection of essays on the image of the Ming founder through today, Long Live the Emperor! She teaches a lower-division survey course on Chinese, Japanese, and Korean history from 1200 BC to AD 1200, and upper division and graduate courses on Chinese history and on pedagogy.  Schneewind has been President of the Society for Ming Studies, and runs a website called "The Ming History English Translation Project."     She has also developed a digital tool called The Late Imperial Primer Literacy Sieve (http://ctext.org/tools/literacy-sieve).

Email: sschneewind@ucsd.edu   

Staff

Jennifer Schwarzkopf

Program Coordinator & Academic Advisor

Chinese Studies Program
Arts and Humanities Building, 6th Floor

Email: 
chinesestudies@ucsd.edu

Language Faculty

Qin-Hong Anderson

Anderson, Qin-Hong 

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: qinhong@ucsd.edu   
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 628


ML,-Photo.jpg

Liu, Mingming

Faculty, Chinese Language

Emailmil068@ucsd.edu
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 627

 


Pei-Chia Chen

Chen, Pei-Chia

Faculty, Chinese Language

Academic Coordinator II, Chinese language program

Email: peichiachen@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-534-4596
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 631


Xiao Wang

Wang, Xiao

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: xiw004@ucsd.edu    
Phone:
 858-822-1533   
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 629


Xu, Li

Faculty, Chinese Language

Email: lixu29@ucsd.eduLi Xu
Phone:
 858-822-1504
Office: Arts and Humanities Building, 6th floor room 630

 

 

 


Cha, Samuel (retired)

Faculty, Chinese Language

Affiliated Faculty

Chen, Eddy Keming

Philosophy

Email: k2chen@ucsd.edu


Cheung, Tai Ming

School of Global Policy and Strategy

Email: tcheung@ucsd.edu

 


Fiss, Géraldine

Literature

Email: gfiss@ucsd.edu 

 


Gerth, Karl

History

Email: kgerth@ucsd.edu  


Guedes, Jade d’Alpoim

Scripps Institution of Oceanography & Department of Anthropology

Email: jguedes@ucsd.edu      


Guy, Nancy

Music

Email: nguy@ucsd.edu      


Hoston, Germaine

Political Science

Email: ghoston@ucsd.edu  


Li, Huai (aka Pickowicz, Lee)

Visual Arts

Email: h3li@ucsd.edu   
Faculty Profile: Visual Arts Department


Liang, Lei 

Music

Email: leiliang@ucsd.edu   
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/leiliangcomposer2/


Liao, Ping-hui 

Literature
Chuan Lyu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies

Email: piliao@ucsd.edu   


Lu, Weijing 

History

Email: w1lu@ucsd.edu   


Muscolino, Micah 

History
Paul G. Pickowicz Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History

Email: mmuscolino@ucsd.edu 


Naughton, Barry J. 

School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: bnaughton@ucsd.edu   


Schneewind, Sarah 

History

Email: sschneewind@ucsd.edu


Shen, Kuiyi 

Visual Arts

Email: kshen@ucsd.edu   
 


Zhu, Ping 

Literature

Email: p3zhu@UCSD.EDU


Emeriti Affiliated Faculty

 

Cahill, Suzanne 

History

Email: suzannecahill@gmail.com    


Chen, Joseph C. Y.

Physics

Email: jcychen@ucsd.edu   


Esherick, Joseph

History

Email: jesherick@ucsd.edu 


Jordan, David 

Anthropology

Email: dkjordan@ucsd.edu    
Website: http://pages.ucsd.edu/~dkjordan/ 


Madsen, Richard 

Sociology

Email: rmadsen@ucsd.edu   


Pickowicz, Paul 

History
Email: bikewei@ucsd.edu   


Shirk, Susan 

School of Global Policy & Strategy

Email: sshirk@ucsd.edu    


Yip, Wai-Lim 

Literature

Email: wyip@ucsd.edu   


 

Librarian

Non Photo

Xi Chen

Associate Librarian 

Geisel Library - BioMed Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive MC 0699
La Jolla, California 92093-0699

Email: xic031@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-7782